TABC History

The Texas Association of Bass Clubs was organized in 1970 by a group of anglers from the San Antonio Bass Club and other interested anglers. The first officers were President, Maurice Campbell, Secretary, Doctor Bill Shelton, and Treasurer, Martha Golden. Earl Golden, outdoor editor of the Waco tribune was appointed a board member. Earl was instrumental in organizing what is known as the first competition bass fishing tournament in Texas – The Texas State Bass Tournament. Earl also helped organize Texas Black Bass Unlimited in 1986.

T.A.B.C. was chartered as a 501 (c) (3) in 1971. It began as a statewide organization made up of approximately 114 bass clubs in Texas. In 1976 the organization was divided up into seven different regions with a director for each region and three At Large board members. We later affiliated the country of Mexico as a region of our organization and provided them with assistance in organizing bass clubs and fishing techniques.

T.A.B.C. has had several presidents from all over the state since Maurice Campbell. They include Bob Pence, Earl McKeithan, Ken Knott, Bob Ryan, Jerry Gold, Bill Bales, Randi Wayland, Bud Wright, Ed Calderone, Robert Rose, Edward Parten, and current president, Aubrey Lewis.